Odd jobs

On personal request from two readers, I’m going to consider odd jobs. Odd jobs are professions and careers made out of unconventional jobs. Even then, an “unconventional” job is subjective to what people think is unconventional. For example, many would think a doctor is conventional and a fisherman is anything but that. The focus here is to get you thinking of the extraordinary.

I’ve compiled a list of jobs I’ve seen off the internet and asked around from my good o’ family and friends. Salary.com states that a good paying odd job ranges from equestrian (horse) training to elevator inspecting [1]. To be honest, those do not seem like odd jobs to me. I recommend you watch Discovery Channel and check out The Deadliest Catch and Pawn Stars on The History Channel.

My friend told me about being a driver. It’s a lucrative career if the right people are driven–e.g., celebrities, socialites, people who think they’re rich. This job is interesting because it requires that you have a nice, dark, and large SUV—think, Cadillac Escalade. People would use an app or directly call you to pick them up and drive them places. This job nets huge tips ranging from $50 to $1,000 in some cases.

A relative of mine works for good o’ Ronald McDonald! She began her career as a fry-cook. McDonald’s has a philosophy that anyone can reach the top, including a “lowly” fry-cook. My relative climbed up the ladder over time from being manager to working on marketing. She owes McDonald’s everything because it provided her the chance to travel around the United States.

I hate classifying jobs as odd. There are unconventional jobs within preconceived conventional domains. In science, scientists are further classified into disciplines. For example, in my former field of work in neuroscience, people were paid just to feed test animals (e.g., mice, roaches, etc.). All he did was ensure that the lab subjects were alive. This is a deceptively simple, yet important job.

Cracked.com wrote an article about human test subjects [2]. People made it a career to participate in experimental studies, especially in E-cigs for $300/week at my university. In fact, I participated in a sleep study that netted me $350 over the span of 3 weeks. I don’t recommend you abuse the system because some studies may contradict with others, especially with experimental drugs.

Think about this: Any job can be classified as “odd.” Let me put it into perspective with “conventional” jobs: I received a haircut today and my barber made a career by cutting hair, that’s it. He has about a steady stream of male customers who usually ask for a simple cut (i.e., no colors, perms, designs) for $10. I’d say he makes about $40/hour. That’s an excellent job, and all he does is cut hair!

With this in mind, anything can become an odd job, even jobs such as teaching. Trust me, there are peculiar jobs out there not limited to the ones stated above. Personally, I believe hedge fund managing and hiring investors is odd in that you are tasked with handling someone else’s often large sums of money. That is, someone has tasked you with something of value and to invest wisely.

These odd jobs never cease to amaze me.

References

[1] http://www.salary.com/11-odd-jobs-with-high-salaries/

[2] http://www.cracked.com/article_19809_the-5-scariest-things-about-life-as-human-test-subject.html

 

Leave a Reply

